Names of Teeth in Humans

Learn about names of teeth in humans. Teeth are considered to be the strongest part of human body. They are made from collagen, protein and calcium which is the reason why they are so strong. Most of us believe, that teeth are just for chewing and biting. But there are actually many more functions other than just these two. Yes, the teeth also help us in speaking, smiling and giving shape to the face.

Layers of Human Teeth:

Before we learn names of teeth in humans, it is important to know about the layers. The teeth have four different layers that are enamel, pulp, cementum and dentin.


The outermost layer of the teeth is known as enamel. It is considered to be the hardest and strongest part of the human body (even stronger than the bones). The enamel is known to protect the teeth from decays and infections.


The second layer of the human teeth is dentin which is comparatively softer than the enamel. There are mainly three types of dentin that are usually defined by the location of the dentine.


Underneath the dentine is another layer termed as pulp. It is composed on blood vessels and nerves. It is the softest layer of the teeth that is quite significant in function.


Cementum is basically a calcified substance that covers the root of the tooth. The main function of the cementum is to attach the teeth with the alveolar bone.
Therefore, we can conclude that all four layers of the teeth have significant role and functions.

Classification of Human Teeth:

The number as well as the types of teeth keeps on changing with age. Majority of the people have two stages of teeth development.
  • Primary teeth or also known as baby teeth or milk teeth.
  • Permanent teeth or adult teeth. 
Children usually have baby teeth or primary teeth which are mostly 20 in number. Primary teeth are also referred as temporary teeth or milk teeth as well. The division in both the jaws i.e. upper and lower is same. Which means a child will have 10 teeth in both, the upper and lower jaw. The teeth present in a child’s jaw are named below:
  • 4 incisors
  • 2 canines 
  • 4 molars
As the children age up, the milk teeth usually shed off and are replaced by permanent teeth. Permanent teeth are also known as secondary teeth. An adult human being has 32 teeth total which are named below:
  • 8 incisors
  • 4 canines (which are also known as cuspids)
  • 8 premolars (that are also called bicuspids)
  • 12 molars that include 4 wisdom teeth

Development of the Human Teeth:

Primary teeth begin to develop when the baby is almost 6 months old. This process is also known as teething. the first teeth to develop are the two incisors in the lower jaw. The process continues and by the age of 3, almost every child has developed all 20 teeth. As the child gets older, the primary teeth begin to shed. Between the age 6 and 12 these teeth are replaced by permanent teeth. Majority of the individuals usually have all their permanent teeth by the age of 21. However, wisdom teeth usually erupt later in adulthood.

Types of Human Teeth:

We’ve already figured out the four different types of teeth present in a human jaw. The names of teeth in humans are:
  • Incisors,
  • Canines,
  • Premolars, and
  • Molars


The sharp teeth present at the front of the jaw are known as incisors or anterior teeth. These are usually used to bite the food and cut into smaller pieces. If we talk about the structure, then the incisors are flat with thinner edges. Children as well as the adults, both have 8 incisors. Four in the front, two in both rows along with one lateral on located on both sides of them.


Canines are comparatively sharper and pointed that are situated next to the set of incisors. They mainly look like fangs and are also known as cuspids or the eyeteeth. They are used to tear the food and are also the longest in comparison to the rest of the teeth.

Children as well as the adults have 4 canines. Children tend to grow canines between the age of 9 and 12. The lower canines usually appear before the upper ones. 


Premolars or what we also refer as the bicuspids are bigger than both the canines and the incisors. They consist of several ridges that help an individual grind and chew the food for swallowing. An adult human being has 8 premolars that lie next to the canines. Since, younger children have primary teeth, therefore they lack the premolars. The premolars begin to erupt when the child is almost 10 or 12 years old. 


Last, but not the least are the molars. They are the biggest ones in the human jaw. They have large, flat surface along with ridges help an individual chew and grind the food perfectly. There are 12 permanent molars in a human jaw. Six on the upper jaw and six on the lower jaw.

The last molars to develop are called the wisdom teeth. The wisdom teeth usually appear between the age of 17 and 25. The wisdom teeth are present at the end of upper and lower jaw. In some cases, the individual doesn’t have all four wisdom teeth. In such cases, the wisdom teeth remain un-erupted inside the bone. If the wisdom teeth appear in the wrong position or halfway, you might get an infection and require immediate treatment. Unlike other teeth, wisdom teeth might cause a little discomfort while appearing. If the pain increases and becomes somewhat unbearable, then it is necessary to see the doctor. Most of the time, the tooth with decay is removed by the dentist to avoid severe infection in the gums and mouth.

These are the four main types of teeth that make up a human jaw. Each tooth has its own significance and plays a crucial role in biting, chewing and grinding. Therefore, taking care of your teeth is quite important. For more information, stay connected. There is a lot of information we have for you. I hope this article will help you in learning the names of teeth in humans.